Impact on Gerrit Code Review
Gerrit Code Review had a fundamental problem with some of the concepts in the GDPR: accounts could not be removed from the system once created the first time. Yes, you could have disabled them, but their associated personal data would have remained in the Gerrit DB or All-Users git repository.
We have developed a brand-new plugin for Gerrit that enable the following features:
- General permission to allow the removal of accounts
Group of users can be deleted to remove their own accounts data. Gerrit administrators can be delegated to remove other accounts.
- New SSH command for account removal
Users that have been granted permissions, can access a new ‘account’ command to remove their own personal information.
- Simple and easy self-service online form to review its Personal Information and self-remove its account.
The new plugin has been shared with the wider Gerrit Code Review community and will be soon public domain for every other publicly available website that wants to host Gerrit and being publicly accessible by EU citizens.
Access and control of your Personal Information
- Right to Access
Every personal profile is directly accessible to its owner through the User’s settings in Gerrit Code Review.
- Data Portability
Gerrit stores the user’s profile in a specific set of branches of the All-Users repository. GerritHub.io can make the personal branches available to everyone that would like to have direct access to its data and reuse or import them into its system.
- Privacy by Design
Gerrit already stores only hashed passwords. Additionally, the GitHub credentials are never passed to Gerrit Code Review and the authentication and profile access delegation process is completely controlled by the user thanks to the OAuth 2.0 and Scope selection process.
- User Data and “right to be forgotten”
Thanks to the new Gerrit ‘account’ plugin, every user on GerritHub.io is always in control of its data and can decide to remove its account permanently at any time.
Note that Gerrit will have to “remember” the account UUID for consistency of all the previous review work done by the user. Every account removed from the platform will become an “Anonymous UUID” and will not be able to be reused anymore in the future.
If you still have doubts or questions about Gerrit Code Review and the EU GDPR regulations, you can get in touch with GerritForge Ltd.